Sachin Tendulkar, the name, is synonymous with the word cricket. Here are a few ODI records and Test records.

ODI records

  • Sachin Tendulkar was the first batsman to appear in 400 innings in ODI cricket.
  • On his debut, Sachin was the second youngest debutant in ODI cricket history.
  • Sachin Tendulkar has scored 18,426 runs in 452 innings, the highest by any player.
  • Sachin Tendulkar was the first player to reach the 10,000, 11,000, 12,000, 13,000, 14,000, 15,000, 16,000, 17,000 and 18,000 runs mark in ODI history.
  • Sachin has the highest number of centuries in ODI cricket, a total of 49 centuries.
  • Most ODI runs in a calendar year: 1,894 ODI runs in 1998.
  • Most centuries in a calendar year: 9 ODI centuries in 1998.
  • Sachin has scored 2,278 runs at an average of 56.95 in World Cup history. This includes 6 centuries & 15 fifties with a best score of 152* against Namibia in the 2003 World Cup.
  • Sachin scored 673 runs in the 2003 Cricket World Cup, the highest by any player in a single World Cup.

Test Records

  • Third youngest debutant in Test cricket, aged 16 years and 205 days, when he made his Test debut against Pakistan on November 15, 1989.
  • Highest number of runs in Test Cricket: 15,837 runs.
  • First Indian batsman to surpass the 11,000 runs mark and the third batsman in the world to do so.
  • Sachin is the second Indian batsman to score over 10,000 runs in Test cricket.
  • Sachin, along with Brian Lara, is the fastest to score 10,000 runs in Test cricket. Both of them did it in just 195 innings.
  • First player to reach 12,000, 13,000, 14,000 and 15,000 Test runs.
  • Sachin holds the record for scoring more than 1000 Test runs in a calendar year. Sachin has done it six times.
  • Sachin Tendulkar has the highest number of Test centuries in world cricket history with 51 centuries.
  • Sachin was the youngest to score a century when he scored his maiden century in 1990.

Official Awards

  • 1994: Arjuna Award Recipient for achievements in Cricket
  • 1997/98: India’s highest sporting honour – Rajiv Gandhi KhelRatna
  • 1999: Padma Shri – India’s fourth highest civilian award
  • 2008: Padma Vibhushan – India’s second highest civilian award

2010: ICC Cricketer of the year – Highest award in the ICC listings